2019 SASE Elections Results

Thanks to the wonderful work of the SASE Elections Committee – Linsey McGoey (chair), Olivier Godechot, Alya Guseva, José Ossandón, and Dorottya Sallai – we are pleased to present you with SASE’s President-elect and the newly elected members to the Executive Council.


Nitsan Chorev is the Harmon Family Professor of Sociology and International & Public Affairs at Brown University in the US. Chorev was previously a member at the Institute for Advanced Study at Princeton, a fellow at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, and a fellow at the UCLA International Institute. Among other publications, she is the author of Remaking U.S. Trade Policy: From Protectionism to Globalization (Cornell University Press, 2007) and of The World Health Organization between North and South (Cornell University Press, 2012). Her most recent book, Give and Take: Developmental Foreign Aid and Local Pharmaceutical Production in Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda is coming out with Princeton University Press later this year.

Click below for more.

Nitsan Chorev



Bruno Amable is professor of political economy at the University of Geneva, on leave from the University of Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne. He has been a member of SASE since last century, and an editor of Socio Economic Review since 2010. His current research focuses on comparative capitalism and the political economy of institutional change.

Click below for more.

Bruno Amable (second term)

Caroline Arnold is an associate professor of Political Science at Brooklyn College, City University of New York.  Her interdisciplinary research centers on comparative political economy of development, with a focus on India and Turkey; it brings together approaches from the study of global value chains, historical sociology, and economic history. As a Co-Organizer of Network B, “Globalization and Socio-Economic Development” since 2013, she has worked with her network co-organizers to encourage greater participation from scholars working in the area of political economy of development.

Click below for more.

Caroline Arnold


Chiara Benassi is a Lecturer (Assistant Professor) in Human Resource Management at King’s Business School (King’s College London). She is an industrial relations scholar working at the intersection between political economy and sociology of work and employment, with a focus on the effect of the institutional context on union strategies, employer strategies and workers’ outcomes at national, sectoral and workplace level. She applies a multi-level approach to the study of work, linking (changes in) policies and institutions at the national level to workplace outcomes.

Click below for more.

Chiara Benassi

Karin Knorr Cetina is Distinguished Service Professor and Chair of the Department of Sociology, University of Chicago, Principal Investigator of a comparative project on scopic media at the University of Konstanz, Germany, and an affiliated member of the Institute for World Society Studies, University of Bielefeld, Germany. She also holds a honorary doctorate of the University of Luzern, Switzerland, and was previously President of the Society for Social Studies of Science and Section and Chair of the Theory Section of the ASA.

Click below for more.

Karin Knorr Cetina (second term)

Michelle Hsieh is an Associate Research Fellow in the Institute of Sociology, Academia Sinica, Taipei, Taiwan. She received her PhD (in Sociology) from McGill University, Montreal, Canada, and was a Shorenstein Postdoctoral Fellow at the Shorenstein Asia-Pacific Research Center at Stanford University. Her research interests include economic sociology, sociology of development, comparative political economy, and East Asian societies. Her ongoing research explores the variations and consequences of industrial upgrading among the East Asian latecomers. 

Click below for more.

Michelle Hsieh

Jeanne Lazarus is a tenured CNRS research fellow at the CSO in Sciences-Po (Paris). Her research has focused on relationships between bankers and customers in French retail banks. Jeanne has also conducted research on the sociology of money and the consumption and monetary practices of the impoverished. She is currently studying the ways in which public policy structures household finances and conceives of the protection of populations deemed to be at risk of financial insecurity, due to precarious employment and the withdrawal of social welfare provisions.

Click below for more.

Jeanne Lazarus (second term)

Virág Molnár received her Ph.D. from Princeton University and is Associate Professor of Sociology at the New School for Social Research. Her research explores the intersections of culture, politics, markets, and social change in Eastern Europe, with special focus on urban and material culture. Her book Building the State: Architecture, Politics, and State Formation in Postwar Central Europe (Routledge, 2013) received the Mary Douglas Prize from the American Sociological Association.

Click below for more.

Virág Molnár

Franklin Obeng-Odoom is Associate Professor at the University of Helsinki. His research is centered on the political economy of cities, natural resources, and development. Obeng-Odoom is Associate Editor of the Forum for Social Economics, Editor of African Review of Economics and Finance, and Series Editor of Edinburgh Studies in Urban Political EconomyThe recipient of a number of reputable research awards, Obeng-Odoom was named a Dan David Prize Scholar in 2010, a World Social Science Fellow in 2013 and, in 2015, was elected to the Fellowship of the Ghana Academy of Arts and Sciences, becoming the youngest Fellow of the oldest learned society in postcolonial Africa. Dr. Franklin Obeng-Odoom received the Patrick J. Welch Award from the Association for Social Economics in 2016 and the 2017 Kapp Prize for research that exemplifies the work of K.W. Kapp and best demonstrates the theoretical perspectives of the European Association for Evolutionary Political Economy. 

Click below for more.

Franklin Obeng-Odoom


We would like to thank all those who ran and express our deepest thanks to the outgoing members of the Executive Council for their hard work these past years: Linsey McGoey, Emily Erikson, Sebastien Lechevalier, Jette Steen Knudsen, Ashley Mears, and Bruno Palier.