2024 Alice Amsden Book Award – Call for nominations

Call for Nominations PDF


2024 Alice Amsden Book Award

Call for nominations

The Society for the Advancement of Socio-Economics (SASE) invites nominations for its 2024 Alice Amsden Book Award for an outstanding scholarly book that breaks new ground in the study of socio-economics. Eligible books must have a 2022 or 2023 first edition publication date and cannot be edited volumesThe deadline for nominations is 15 February 2024.

Only current SASE members are invited to nominate a book for the prize, and authors are welcome to nominate their own work (to become a SASE member, go here: Join SASE! – SASE).

To nominate a book, please send an electronic copy (that can be shared with all committee members) to sasebookaward@sase.org. In addition, please send one hard copy each to the two addresses listed below. You must include a brief nomination letter that states how the book contributes to SASE’s intellectual mission.

Please note: All books/submissions must be in English, and have a first edition publication date of 2022 or 2023. Also note that achieving diversity and inclusion is a priority for SASE.

Please direct any questions to the chair of the book nomination committee, Ying Chen, at yingc@newschool.edu

2023 Committee Members

Ying Chen [chair] (The New School)

Michelle Hsieh (Institute of Sociology, Academia Sinica)

Megan Tobias Neely (Copenhagen Business School)

Sidney Rothstein (Williams College)

Antonio Botelho (IUPERJ Universidade Candido Mendes, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)


Addresses for physical copies:

Sidney Rothstein

24 Hopkins Hall Drive

Williams College

Williamstown, MA 01267

Megan Tobias Neely

Department of Organization

Copenhagen Business School

Kilevej 14A

2000 Frederiksberg, Denmark

Address for electronic copies (these should be files that can be shared with all committee members): sasebookaward@sase.org

About Alice Amsden

A prolific scholar, Alice Amsden wrote extensively about the process of industrialization in emerging economies, particularly in Asia. Her work frequently emphasized the importance of the state as a creator of economic growth, and challenged the idea that globalization had produced generally uniform conditions in which emerging economies could find a one-size-fits-all path to prosperity. Amsden wrote or co-authored seven books, and dozens of journal articles, essays and chapters in edited volumes. She also wrote frequently for general-interest publications; her work appeared in The New York Times, The Nation, Dissent, Boston Review, Technology Review and others.

2023 Alice Amsden Book Award winners:

Winner: Hedged Out: Inequality and Insecurity on Wall Street by Megan Tobias Neely

Honorable Mention: Recoding Power: Tactics for Mobilizing Tech Workers by Sidney A. Rothstein