Inaugural Alice Amsden Book Award of the Society for the Advancement of Socio-Economics

We are delighted to announce that CK Lee has won the inaugural Alice Amsden Book Award of the Society for the Advancement of Socio-Economics for her book, The Specter of Global China: Politics, Labor, and Foreign Investment in Africa. To learn more about the prize committee’s decision, the winning book, and the award itself, visit our site

SER Best Paper Prize

We are very pleased to announce that the Socio-Economic Review Best Article Prize will be given to Jacob Apkarian for his paper, entitled “Opposition to Shareholder Value: Bond Rating Agencies and Conflicting Logics in Corporate Finance” Socioeconomic Review 16(1):85–112. Click here to learn more about the prize and to read the paper.

SASE Connected: The SuAVE Database

SASE now has it’s very own exclusive and interactive database software, called SASE SuAVE. With the SASE SuAVE, you can explore distributions of SASE members by any characteristic available in the membership database. Our members can be filtered by country, city, gender, university, position, department, discipline of PhD, and research network interests. Within individual profiles you can see a user’s photograph, biography, and contact details (if supplied). SuAVE has many practical applications including (but not limited to):

  • Finding scholars with similar research interests for collaborations.
  • Searching for academics based in a certain area or at a particular university ahead of a conference.
  • Organizing regional meetings with local members.

The SASE SuAVE is currently open to all SASE visitors to use for a trial period, it will then only be accessible to our registered members. Check it out now!

Three Past Presidents on 30 Years of SASE

SASE’s founder, Amitai Etzioni, as well as past presidents Nancy DiTomaso and Colin Crouch, share their thoughts on our organization and it’s transformations over the past thirty years. Read their contributions.

2019 Presidential and Executive Council Election Results

SASE is delighted to announce that Nitsan Chorev will serve as President in 2019-2020. We would also like to congratulate Bruno Amable, Caroline Arnold, Chiara Benassi, Karin Knorr Cetina, Michelle Hsieh, Jeanne Lazarus, Virág Molnár, and Franklin Obeng-Odoom for their election to a three-year term (2019-2022) on the Executive Council. Warm thanks to Linsey McGoey, Emily Erikson, Sebastien Lechevalier, Jette Steen Knudsen, Ashley Mears, and Bruno Palier, who will be leaving the Executive Council this year, and many thanks to all those who participated in the election as well as to the Elections Committee—Linsey McGoey (chair), Olivier Godechot, Alya Guseva, José Ossandón, and Dorottya Sallai—for their hard work.

* This article is taken from the SASE Summer Newsletter 2019 – Click here to go back to the Contents Page *